The EYFS describes the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5.  This is a very important stage in each child’s development. It helps them prepare for school. Working with parents we want to ensure each child’s experience is happy, active, exciting and fun.
Our focus is on supporting children's development, care and learning needs.
The EYFS Framework sets out:
  • Learning and Development 
  • Assessments that maps your child’s progress
  • Welfare Requirements to keep your child safe and promote welfare
  • Early Learning Goals
Children will focus on:
  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development
These areas are essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.
As children grow, then a further 4 areas of learning are introduced:
  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.
The aim always is to follow your child's unique needs and interests through play.
Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

Download a copy of the EYFS (2017)

Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage 2017
The early years foundation stage was introduced in 2008. You can download here a copy of the latest revision.
Adobe Acrobat document [551.7 KB]

Download a copy of Early Years Outcomes (2013)

Early Years Outcomes
This document is a non-statutory guide to support practitioners. It is a guide to making best-fit judgements about whether a child is showing typical development for their age, may be at risk of delay or is ahead for their age.
Early Years Outcomes.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [217.8 KB]